top of page

USA calling: 17 days, 5 States, 7 National Parks

Work kept me particularly busy during these last months. It might have slowed me down in posting, but surely it hasn't stopped me from travelling and from thinking about my little blog, a colorful virtual gallery in the basement of the internet where I get to display my pictures to a small gaggle of affectionate people.

Buried in my computer there are still around 200 pictures that I took during my long weekend in the Netherlands, a wonderful discovery that I made at the end of April. But that's another story. Today, and for the next days, it's going to be a sneak peek into my US trip, which saw as main protagonists a couple and a car running for 2.555 miles (4.088 km).

Our trip started in Denver, Colorado, continued in Utah, through Moab, Canyonlands, Arches National Park, Bryce Canyon, Zion National Park, and then Arizona (for the famous Grand Canyon), Nevada (stopping in the famous – and overrated, cough cough – Las Vegas) and California, through Los Angeles, Sequoia National Park, Kings Canyon, Yosemite and San Francisco.

The list is long, but the experience was amazing.

Our first two days were spent recovering from the jet lag and preparing for the 5 days camping afterwards.

Denver is a typical American city, with pretty houses, a lot of cables, perpendicular streets without actual names – and actually a lot of weed, too.

What makes Denver magical for me are the Rocky Mountains, which frame the best views from the city.

One of the best stops we could make in Denver is the Cheesman Park and the Botanic Gardens near there. The Gardens have so much variety and so many different corners, from the Japanese gardens to desert flora to the tropical greenhouse.

After two days, at 6 am, we rented a car and we began officially our road trip.

Next stop: Moab, Utah.

bottom of page